Thursday, February 25, 2010

SECTION 8A TOURNAMENT KICKS OFF TONIGHT AT EGF CIVIC CENTER .. Warroad Hosts Red Lake Falls / Kittson-Central Takes On LOW

#8 (Red Lake Falls Eagles) at #1 (Warroad Warriors), 6:00 PM

The Eagles, under the guidance of head coach Brad Kennett, meet up with the Warroad Warriors for the first time in six years.  The 8th seed Eagles have a hefty task ahead of them tonight.  With that said, give credit to Red Lake Falls Eagles who've had a solid season (10-14-0) and take momentum into tonight's contest with a 7-0 whitewashing over the Bagley/Fosston Flyers on Tuesday night.

Warroad enters the 2010 Section 8A tourney as the #1 seed for the seventh time in the last eight seasons (2006 Thief River Falls).  Albert Hasbargen, 6th season, comes into tonight's contest as Section 8A's most decorated coach with (5) Section 8A titles and (1) Minnesota State Class "A" Championship in 2005 (29-0-2).  The Warriors feature a Minnesota Mr. Hockey Candidate in Brock Nelson (39G) and perhaps one of the state's most prolific scoring lines with Brett Hebel (23G), Nick Stoskopf (13G) along with Nelson.  That line has scored 63% of Warroad's goals this season.  Senior netminder, Shawn Storey, returns to the line-up for the Warriors after an injury.

#5 (Lake of the Woods Bears) vs. #4 (Kittson-Central Bearcats), 8:15 PM

This one could be a toss up as the Bears (12-12-1) invade the Civic Center against the hot, K-C Bearcats (14-6-0).  The 'Cats feature one of Minnesota's most prolific goal scorers in Craig Lindegard (44G) and a University of North Dakota Fighting Sioux Men's Football recruit.  Along with LIndegard, is KCC's Markas Dahl (22G) and Gabe Montoya (16G) goals.  Those three score 67.2% of the teams goals.

No comments: