Saturday, March 13, 2010

2010 Minnesota State High School Class "A" Tournament: Warroad Upends Mahtomedi In 3OT: Warriors Claim 3rd Place Honors In Minnesota Class A boys hockey tournament at the Xcel Energy Center

State Tournament Summary
By Howard  Voigt
Brock Nelson’s goal in the third overtime led Warroad past Mahtomedi 5-4 in the Class A Third Place Game, Nelson had 11 points in the tournament. Andrew Shaugabay opened up the scoring at the 13:05 mark of the first period when he shot the puck past Brad Wohlers. Mike Rose would score his fourth goal of the tournament with 1.9 seconds left in the first period to tie the game at 1-1. Brock Nelson scored early in the second period, it was Nelson’s fifth goal of the tourney and gave the Warriors a 2-1 lead. But a pair of Mike Rose and Ryan Gregory goals at the 13:09 mark (Rose) and the 14:43 mark (Gregory) of the second period gave Mahtomedi a 3-2 lead going into the third. The Warriors scored two goals of their own early in the third as Brett Hebel and David Nelson scored to give the Warriors a 4-3 lead. Brandon Zurn scored his fifth goal of the tournament at the 15:19 mark of the third to send the game to overtime at four apiece. In third overtime nelson scored his second goal of the day and sixth of the tournament as Warroad won 5-4. The Warriors ended the season 26-5 overall and Mahtomedi ended the season 24-7 overall.