Tuesday, March 9, 2010

LET'S PLAY HOCKEY PRESS RELEASE: The Minnesota State High School Boys State Tournament Banquets For Class A / AA

Media Alert

What:            2010 Boys State High School Hockey Tournament Banquets

Where:            Roy Wilkins Auditorium, St. Paul
When:             Class A Banquet – Tuesday, March 9 – 6:00 PM
                       Class AA Banquet – Wednesday, March 10 – 7:00 PM

Key Points

  • Only time to catch all coaches and players in each tournament at once
  • Prime photo opportunities for stills and video
  • Interview opportunities galore
  • The kids are all dressed up!

Class A Notes – Tuesday, March 9 - 6:00 PM

  • New Ulm has not been to the state tournament since 1992
  • Alexandria is making its first appearance since 1996
  • Warroad attending for 7th time in last 8 years – won titles in ’05 and ‘03
  • Warroad has made 20 appearances with four titles ('94, '96, '03, '05) and an all-time tournament record of 25-8
  • Breck has won 11 straight state tourney games – won titles in '09, ’04 and ’00
  • Breck's Tyson Fulton leads the tournament field in scoring with 84 points
  • Hermantown won its lone state title in its last state tournament appearance (2007)
  • Mr. Hockey Finalists in the state tournament: Adam Krause (Hermantown), Brock Nelson (Warroad)
  • Class A field: Alexandria, Breck, Hermantown, Mahtomedi, New Ulm, Rochester Lourdes, Virginia/Mt. Iron-Buhl, Warroad 
  • Keynote Speaker: Brian Bonin, former Mr. Hockey/Hobey Baker Award Winner

Class AA Notes – Wednesday, March 10 – 7:00 PM

  • Edina returns for 4th straight tourney
  • Edina coached by two former Minnesota North Stars: Curt Giles and Don Beaupre
  • Blaine's Nick Bjugstad leads the tournament field in scoring with 69 points
  • Minnetonka's lone loss was a 5-4 overtime defeat at the hands of Edina
  • Roseau will be making its record 33rd state tournament appearance. The Rams have won a record seven state titles
  • Edina has won six state championships and has made 26 appearances in St. Paul
  • Apple Valley is making its first appearance in the state tournament since winning the 1996 title
  • Blaine, Duluh East, Edina and Hill-Murray each appeared in the 2009 state tournament
  • Mr. Hockey Finalists in the state tournament: Nick Bjugstad (Blaine), Max Gardiner (Minnetonka), Justin Holl (Minnetonka)
  • Class AA field: Apple Valley, Blaine, Duluth East, Edina, Hill-Murray, Lakeville North, Minnetonka, Roseau
  • Keynote Speaker: Shjon Podein, former Stanley Cup Champion

No comments: