Tuesday, March 3, 2009

Section 8A "Year of the Goaltenders" Race Continues Through Today; Vote For Your Favorite Goaltender As Deadline Is Today

By: Timothy Oshie
Publisher / Oshie Sports & Media

It has been without a doubt the Year-of-the-Goaltenders in Section 8A Boy's hockey.

I've had a chance to witness several Section 8A games throughout this 2009 season. In those games, both goaltenders were usually the best two players on the ice.

To your right, you have until 6:00 PM to vote for your favorite goaltender in this week long poll that has stirred up a ton of interest and support by member schools and the fans.

Next, we will be launching (2) new polls later today as to Defensemen-of-the-Year nominations and Coach-of-the-Year poll as well.

We ask that not only do you vote, but to submit an e-mail to oshiesports@gmail.com and talk about your favorite Section 8A game or moment this past season. All submissions will be posted on "your" Section 8A site in a timely fashion. Please, this is meant to support the kids and coaches of Section 8A so be professional in your presentation.

And now, below, are the nominations for 2009 Section 8A Goaltender-of-the-Year (a non-scientific poll that has no barring on the post season awards in Section 8A, Mariucci Conference, Mid-State Conference, Northwest Conference and Independent Conference).

And thanks for supporting the Section 8A site for the second consecutive season.

Brady Yrjo (Park Rapids)
Zach Page (Red Lake Falls)
Alex Lyon (LOW)
Alex Chaput (Kittson)
Zane Gothberg (TRF)
Jason Goldsmith (Warroad)
Gavin Ross (Bagley)
Matt Grove (Crookston)
Derek Dudgeon (Bemidji)
Kyle Storbakken (EGF)
Micah Bank (Walker-H-A)

No comments: